Unlimited rewards through sacrifice?

21 11 2009

BUSINESS AS USUAL in Malaysia despite all the economic doom looming in the open Global airwaves… Kuala Lumpur was still as vibrant and dynamic as ever when I departed the Malaysian capital after a few days of business-cum-leisure trip last week. It certainly is growing to become a metropolis in every sense of the word.

For comparison’s sake, I had the chance to make a day-trip to the island republic of Singapore a few weeks back but generally speaking, the positive vibes I observed amongst the Malaysian populace couldn’t be felt in neighbouring S’pore or even in our own country’s backyard, for that matter. What could be the driving force of such positivity and dynamism in Malaysia which I personally found wanting in Singapore or Brunei and even perhaps in other ASEAN countries?

Is it the new leadership of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak? Or could it be the mere fact that the Malaysians I established contacts with during my recent stay were all energetic and open-minded lot?

Having said that, I won’t be surprised if Malaysia were to regain its status as the re-emerging Tiger economy of Asia sooner rather than later. Now, how do we Bruneians copycat such vibrancy — 101?

That, my friends, is a billion dollar question which needs an answer fast! No hard and fast rules, maybe, but a winning solution must be found, just the same. I am no economist and neither am I an academician. However, my instincts seem to be telling me that all businesses, no matter what, should lead (whatever visions and missions they may have) to the ‘holy grail’ of economic success. Failure is no longer an option! In fact, to fail is to die in vain…😦

Both on a personal and national level, to succeed in business in these trying times, one definitely shouldn’t rest on one’s laurels — that’s for sure. More importantly, in whatever business one is involved in, one has no choice but to innovate and be more creatively adventurous. In a nutshell — no venture, no gain! As cliched as it may sound but the truth remains that business is evolving like nobody’s business today.

More so in the near future, global businesses will rapidly capture the world market on a much bigger scale than a tsunami. What kind of a global industry am I referring to? I have yet to discover myself, frankly.

I may or may not know what I’m writing (or talking in my head) about because the raw deal is that I have to go for it, whether I like it or not! The law of the jungle dictates that it is the survival of the fittest. And in order to survive, a lot of sacrifices have to be made along the way. I may not favor the negative affluence that goes hand in hand with economic progress, socially. Still, it is a sacrifice although there has to be limits to everything in this world, being temporary in nature.

It is undoubtedly much easier to walk a tightrope than to try to balance between one’s worldly and spiritual pursuits. However, one simply has to strike the right balance, one way or another. I guess the best classic example of a true sacrifice is what Prophet Abraham (Nabi Allah Ibrahim Alaihi Salam) had to endure when God the Almighty ordered him to slaughter his own beloved son, Prophet Ismail Alaihi Salam as a ready sacrifice for the sake of Allah.

To this day, that miraculous sacrifice is being celebrated annually by all Muslims throughout the world as “Hari Raya Korban” or the Feast of Sacrifice. The Eid ‘ul Adha or more commonly known in Brunei as Hari Raya Haji or Aidil Adha will be celebrated globally on 27 November 2009.

To all Muslim brothers and sisters in Islam:

“SELAMAT MENYAMBUT HARI RAYA AIDIL ADHA”

PLK


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

