The wonders of my flesh and blood…

10 04 2010

MY GROWING UP son and daughter have always been my pride and joy. They are both sitting for quite important exams this year:

My 15-year-old boy, B.A., is taking nine subjects for the Brunei Cambridge GCE ‘O’ Levels and his 11-year-old sister, T.A., is under pressure to equal her big brother’s achievement five years ago of five straight A’s in the Penilaian Sekolah Rendah (PSR) or Primary School Assessment examination.

Well, as a worried parent, I could only pray in silence for both of them to perform above expectations apart from giving them the moral support to motivate them to excel in their academic pursuits.

T.A., my long-haired princess, always surprises me with her cool, unassuming attitude and this morning she woke me up early to ask me to send her to school.

I almost forgot that she was one of two students from her school to join other top primary school students from throughout the country in this year’s Mathematics Olympiad. It is part of an annual educational event which is organized by the Science and Technology and Environment Project (STEP) of the Ministry of Education. Her elder brother, B.A., clinched the top 10 positions in the Science Olympiad in his category last year. He was supposed to have been shortlisted to represent Brunei Darussalam in an international Science Olympiad which was scheduled to have been held in Bahrain, UAE but due to AH1N1, the trip had to be canceled. Tough Luck, son!đŸ˜¦

And as soon as I return from sending my daughter to school, I had to rush my son to his school Sports Day in a nearby sports complex this morning. B.A. also surprised me when I picked him up around midday that he got fifth placing in an 800 meters race without any practice. Apparently he was a last minute replacement for his Green House and he also joined his team-mates in the 100-meter sprint relay event (coming in 5th position, too). He told me that he was a leading flag bearer at the Sports Meet today. “Well,” I said, “By right you should since you’re the school’s Head Boy!”

Below is a photo of him (standing third from left) being installed as the Head Prefect of his school this year by his school Principal (far right):

Last month, he also led a group of his schoolmates to participate in the Borneo Global Issues Conference (BGIC) which is organized annually by the International School Brunei (ISB), Berakas. It was the first time that his school has joined the BGIC and my son role-played as the Bolivian President in presenting a nation’s policy resolution paper on the prevailing international issue of the Palestinian Plight. I was pretty impressed with his presentation which was beyond even my own understanding of the whole issue at hand and quite current, too!đŸ™‚

Below is my ‘future diplomat’ son sitting in front row (far right) being pictured with other ‘United Nations delegates’ from other schools including a few participating schools from neighbouring countries and overseas in the function at the International Convention Centre (ICC), which was officially opened by HRH Pengiran Anak Isteri Pengiran Anak Sarah (the Crown Princess):

His younger sister seems to be following his footsteps in excelling in both the academic and co-curricular activities. Recently she and three of her classmates presented an English project on the “Importance of Good Manners” in front of her schoolmates and teachers. T.A. aspires to become a doctor but for now she’s so crazy about dancing and all things Korean — music, movies, etc. Hhmm…#*@

My innocent girl above minus her dancing gear and ballet leotard — B.A. & T.A. Love you both so very much, guys!đŸ™‚

PLK


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

