What’s the world turning upside down to?

4 06 2011

BLAME IT ON Facebook, I’ve been avoiding the blogosphere for ages now. It’s been many moons since I last posted anything on this blog. Good thing I am not hooked on Twitter like millions of people globally.

Most people these days are ‘holistically-connected’ to their smart phones or tablets 24/7, 365 days and worse still, even talk or SMS or surf while answering the call of nature in the toilet/washroom. Nothing is as disgusting as that, to me personally, at least. 

Fortunately or unfortunately, I’m not one of the modern-day hi-tech gizmo geeks. As a matter of fact, I could live without a cellular or hand-phone. I’m now joining the ranks of American WWF wrestler-turned-politician, Jesse Ventura, who never want to own a mobile phone.

My last postings were a couple of poems to express my disillusionment over the recent uprisings in the Middle East and North Africa namely Tunisia, Egypt. Gradually, the “Social Media Revolution 2.0” as one Egyptian blogger-activist dubbed it then spread across Libya, Yemen, Bahrain, Syria, etc. These volatile situations in the Arabic nations have added on to the ongoing Mideast tensions in the decades-old Palestinian-Israeli Conflict. Only God knows when the Libyan Civil War and so-called ‘Arab Spring’ will ever end. Thus far, both the Tunisian and Egyptian long-time leaders – Presidents Zine El Abidine Ben Ali and Hosni Mubarak respectively – have been ousted from power by their own people last February. And now the Syrian President Bashar al-Assad and the Yemeni leader, President Ali Abdullah Saleh, are on the brink of being overthrown by ‘people-power’ in their respective nations soon enough, only God knows Best (“Wallahu ‘Alam Bissawab”).

Turning back the clock, time seemed to have stood still on March 11, 2011 when it was Black Friday for Japan, one of the loveliest countries I’ve visited thrice before. A couple of days prior to that, I came across a news report about a 6.2 magnitude earthquake had hit Japan but it was brushed aside as minor.

It did cross my mind the fact that a couple of my Bruneian Facebook friends happened to be in Tokyo then for a meeting. That tragic Friday afternoon, as I browsed through posting by Facebook friends around 3 pm, I saw a couple of Japanese friends posting photos of their offices in disarray with things falling around.

At first I assumed it was probably due to the minor earthquake a couple of days before. But when I saw a YouTube of an Al-Jazeera news footage of a really huge tsunami which devastated parts of the Honshu Island, only then I realized a much bigger 9.0 magnitude Tohoku earthquake with its epicenter under the sea, had apparently triggered a killer-Tsunami. It was such a breath-taking and somewhat shocking live coverage of the natural disaster. I followed the live feed streaming online via the NHK Japanese Broadcasting International website for days later. It’s been more than three months now since natural and man-made disasters struck Japan… and it will take many more months or years even for the good people of the Land of the Rising Sun to fully recover from the shocking tragedy. God Speeds! 

PLK


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

