July birthday celebration and jubilation…

17 07 2011

His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzadin Waddaulah, the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam


LAST FRIDAY, 15 July 2011 marked the 65th Birthday anniversary of my beloved king, His Majesty the Sultan and Yang-Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam. His Majesty celebrated his 65th birthday and has been the absolute monarch of my country for the last 43 years.

I don’t have to go at great lengths to describe full details of my beloved ruler who has wisely governed his small nation (nicknamed the Abode of Peace with a mere population of about 400,000 people) since GOOGLE and WIKIPEDIA searches should be able to reveal all correct facts about the sovereign rule of His Majesty.

As a loyal subject, I have no qualms about the greatly-improved quality of Bruneian lives since His Majesty first ascended the throne in August, 1968. After all, I am living proof of a ‘cradle to grave’ beneficiary of my country’s welfare system under His Majesty’s superb leadership… at least I hope so. What’s so great about our working monarch (His Majesty is also the Prime Minister, Finance Minister, Defence Minister, Supreme Commander of the country’s Armed Forces on top of other official portfolios all rolled into one Royal holistic command), ordinary citizens like myself are able to meet and greet to shake His Majesty’s hand at least once a year in the Nurul Iman palace during the annual Eid Mubarak or Hari Raya Aidil Fitri celebrations. This caring monarch has such an amazing people-friendly attitude and down-to-earth personality every time His Majesty mixes freely with his subjects during state functions and regular visits to the community at large. As far as I can remember, His Majesty has spoken to me in passing during walkabouts over the years at least three times simply asking me: How are you doing? Or something like that…🙂 His Majesty hardly knows me at all personally!😉

So I think my beloved ruler is as good an exemplary leader as the world’s elderly statesman, Nelson Mandela of South Africa. I just realize that the former South African President is also a July birthday celebrant (to be exact on July 18th). And Mr Mandela is 93 years old this year! Out of that, 27 years of his life was spent in jail.😦 Now this grand old ‘Apartheid’ Freedom Fighter is one heck of a guy I would love to meet one day (wishful thinking, this may be). HAPPY BIRTHDAY Your Majesty and Your Excellency respectively. Oh by the way, the United Nations has declared every 18th of July as the International Mandela Day. I have forgotten all about the American Independence Day on the 4th of July, too.🙂

The former President of South Africa, Mr Nelson Mandela and his family

peace.love.kindness


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

